C’mon Obelion! You Haven’t Played _____?!

Let’s be real, guys: there’s a TON of great video games out there, and I am but a single man, on the brink of the vidya sea. I get distracted with school, work, life, and other games, so I don’t get to play some games I really would’ve played. Some gamers out there might see some of these games as “definite must-plays” of gaming, and I do understand their reasoning; however, I’ll attempt to justify why I haven’t played it and what I’ve heard about it. I apologize in advance if the quality of this article is kinda really bad. I’ve been a little lazy over the weekend to give myself a chance to unwind after all that freakin’ studying. While I”m on the subject, stay in school don’t do drugs, stranger danger, all that bull.

Breath of Fire Series

SNES-breath_of_fire

I’ll be honest with this one. I never heard of Breath of Fire until I got regular internet access, and by the time that rolled around, I was being absorbed into Monster Hunter and going through the Final Fantasys (Fantasys? Fantasies? Fuck proper nouns). From what I can tell, it looks like a solid RPG with some really bitchin’ music, if I do say so myself. If I did get in to the series, I would try my best to start with the first one, although 2 looks good too. I don’t wanna start with anything past that, or I’d fuck up to much of the story, assuming they’re all connected. Either way, the series is on my to-do list somewhere, and hopefully I’ll get to it one day.

Fatal Frame Series

Fatal Frame 4-wii-2

Why haven’t I played it? I fuckin’ haaaaaaaaate being scared. Actual fears are one thing, and shitting myself every 5 seconds while playing a video game is another. Maybe some people think these games aren’t scary, but fuck it, I never took the chance. From what I’ve heard, the game is very enjoyable gameplay wise, but shit, dem scaries.  Maybe if I had someone to be freaked out with, I’d go balls deep and play it, but for now, I’ll stay away from the series like the plague.

On a side note, y’know that stereotypical loud black woman who sits in the theatres going “AW HELL NAW DON’T GO WITH HIM HE’S THE KILLAAA OOOOOOOOOOOOOOH GURL”? I find them absolutely hysterical. I would play scary games more often if I had, like, 4 of them behind me. Just throwing that out there.

Armored Core Series

Tgs-armored-core-4-1

“Obelion! You’ve NEVER played Armored Core?!” Well, no, I haven’t. Get off mah dick about it or we’ll have to tussle. I’ve played about 20 minutes of AC4 at my uncle’s house, but other than that, I have absolutely no experience with this series.  The customization was awesome and gameplay was, from what I can recall, extremely  enjoyable. I enjoyed playing Armored Core 4 a lot, and let’s be real, I just fucking LOVE mechs in general, so if I do get into this series, that would probably be the one I start off with, unless one of my readers has a suggestion otherwise.

Deus Ex Series

DXHR_Wallpaper_Triangular_1920x1200

Hooooh boy. Here’s where the shit hits the fan. This is dangerous territory for an admission like this. I have never played a Deus Ex game.  Deus Ex, Deus Ex: Invisible War, or Deus Ex Human Revolution: all unplayed. “But why Obe?! WHY DEUS EX?!” I never played it because I honestly never heard of it till about 2011ish, when Deus Ex Human Revolutions was released.  That’s when I noticed that Human Revo was only a prequel in a trilogy. Needless to say, I felt kinda dumb when I realized how esteemed this game is. Such a highly regarded game, and I never heard a word about it till the Internet. I wouldn’t mind playing the game if I was asked to, but for now, I’ll leave it somewhere on the list and get to it when it’s appropriate. For now, I’ll go hang myself.

2 responses to “C’mon Obelion! You Haven’t Played _____?!

  1. Haven’t played Breath of Fire, but I understand it’s an excellent series. Never got into Fatal Frame, having trouble getting into Armored Core, and Deus Ex is a good series, EXCEPT for Invisible War:

    • I laughed. I’ve never heard anyone talk about Invisible War, but I’ve never heard anything negative about Deus Ex/ Deus Ex Human Revo. One day I’ll get off of my ass and play Deus Ex. Maybe I can ask Next to borrow his copy of Human Revo. I’ll probably get into Armored Core first though. Gotta have my mecha fix.

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

