MONSTER HUNTER 3 ULTIMATE RELEASED, Gears, Walking Dead

Clipboard

Aliens and wyverns and zombies, oh my!

Well, today’s the day. Four new releases worth talking about:

  • Gears of War: Judgement
  • Walking Dead: Survival Instinct
  • MONSTER HUNTER 3 ULTIMATE HOLY TITS YES

Well, you can obviously tell which one I’M excited about, but I’ll humor the other titles.

Gears of War: Judgement

Gears-of-War-Judgment-Screens-and-Artwork-1

Grey with Dashes of Orange and Blue: The Game

The latest addition to the color deprived series of Gears of War, GoW: Judgement, released at midnight today. I’ve played through the series, and I’m just not crazy about it. It’s one of those games that was only fun to me if a friend was playing with me: very boring otherwise. As expected, I’m not picking this one up, but hell, if you’re a fan of the Gears series, then go for it.

The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct

4142The-Walking-Dead-Survival-Instinct_screen-6

The latest cash-in to the Walking Dead series features Daryl from AMC’s live action series (and one of my favorite characters) in a first-person “survival” game. I use quotations around survival because the last Walking Dead game was more of a scripted novel than an actual survival game. Anyways, it’s a prequel to the TV’s Walking Dead, so you get to see a little of Daryl’s first moments in the zombie infested countryside. Sadly, I’m not buying this, but I’ll watch a Let’s Play or something so i don’t miss out.

Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate

monhun1-610x366

I waited over a year to get my hands on this game, and release day has finally come. Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate (or MH3U) is an expansion of Monster hunter Tri on the Wii that combines all of the elements of the 3rd generation games (MHTri and the Japan-exclusive MHPortable 3rd) into one huge game along with original content. MH3U releases on two systems: the Wii U and the 3DS. The Wii U features online play while the 3DS is stuck with local play with either other 3DS or a Wii U. Sadly, I’m gathering dust in my bank account, so I’ll be playing on my 3DS and not a brand new Wii U. But fortunately, I won’t be alone, as I’ve convinced three other friends to buy it, so I’m not hunting alone this time!

Driving to Gamestop with my three hunting buddies went something along these lines:

1363665073627

We got there and picked up our two preorders, and two of my friends got the last two copies in the store, effectively cleaning out a Gamestop of its supply. As you can imagine, we drove back like this out of pure joy:

1362946045729

We sat down and immediately hopped online for shenanigans. We tried a Quropeco, but we somehow disconnected half way in. Then, we tried again with a Royal Ludroth, where he killed two people in one hip check. Depressed and needing to go to class, I went home while my friends sat in class like losers, and here I am now, typing and playing at the same time.

Obviously, I’m excited as all hell, and I’m glad I have friends to play with. As for now, I’m gonna keep farming Jaggi stuff so I’m well equipped for our next hunting session. Thanks for reading!

One response to “MONSTER HUNTER 3 ULTIMATE RELEASED, Gears, Walking Dead

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

