Obe’s Jukebox #1 – Dark Cloud – Main Theme

dark-cloud-wallpaper-small

What better way to start off the Jukebox’s adventure than with the legendary theme of Dark Cloud?

Welcome to the first segment of Obe’s Jukebox! The Jukebox is where I post video game music that either had a strong impression on gaming and myself or is completely under appreciated  I’ve always wanted to write about some of the music in video games, but it was hard to make it fit in to my usual nonsense, so I hope you guys come to love the Jukebox as much as I think you will :3

For future posts, It’ll look the same as you’ll see here: I’ll start with the video, then some basic info, then my thoughts on the track. With all of this introduction stuff out of the way, let’s get started!

Track Name: Main Theme

Game: Dark Cloud (2001)

System: PlayStation 2

Composer: Tomohito Nishiura

The Main theme of Dark Cloud was written by Level-5’s musical wizard, Tomohito Nishiura, who later went on to write the music for the Professor Layton series. The man who worked on both of these series can certainly live up to his reputation, as many people feel a sense of magic and nostalgia when they hear this tune for the first time in years.

I can actually remember the first time I played this game. I played it with a now good friend of mine who was my mother’s boyfriend at  the time. He got it on a whim one day and it instantly hooked us with its upgrading system and dungeon crawling. Making a new sword or getting to a new dungeon was exciting and fun, and apparently many other people felt this way, as the Dark Cloud series has a huge cult following. If you haven’t played Dark Cloud 1 or 2, do yourself a favor and pick it up. It’s one of the best Adventure RPGs on the PlayStation 2 and you’re missing out on so many interesting characters and music tracks.

I swear. If Level-5 ever takes their fans’ advice and make a Dark Cloud 3, Nishiura better be on the project, too. The series would be lost without Nishiura’s sense of charm that he introduced in the first game, and I think this theme sums up the game perfectly: a mystical adventure filled with personality that you’ll never forget.

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

