Hatoful Boyfriend

Start_menu

So I’m not going to dance around the subject for this intro. You know those Japanese Dating Sims? Well, Hatoful Boyfriend was made back in 2011, and I recently stumbled across it. You play the role of a human female attending St. PigeoNation’s Institute, furthering your education while interacting with a colorful cast of pigeons and other avian friends.

…wait, what?

3

All of the people in this school are pigeons.

Goddamn pigeons. Everywhere.

10

W-what the fuck?

What startles me the most is that someone, somewhere in the world thought, “Y’know? This game needs to be a thing,” and so they made the horrible, avian construct known as Hatoful Boyfriend. On that note, the game mentions a man named Brian Pigeon, and one of the in-game characters tells you to tab out of Hatoful and actually Google this man. Of course, I complied with this request and brought me to this page.

7

What’s the deal with freakin’ pigeons? I don’t know if this man, er, pigeon, helped on the project or something, but whatever he does, he’s been doing it for a loooooooooooong time.

9

If you’re looking for a good game with exciting gameplay, then this isn’t for you. If you’re looking for the weirdest shit you can find in less than five minutes, then look no further. It’s a textbook dating sim, but with pigeons. And you are a human female. This deserves at least one playthrough, although multiple playthroughs reveal more storylines.

Why does this game exist, and why do I like it? I know I’m two years late to this party, but it’s a goddamn pigeon dating sim. I can’t NOT write about this. Seriously, just try the demo or something. Just, oh Jesus. I don’t even know what to say.

3 responses to “Hatoful Boyfriend

  1. You should play through the full game. There’s actually a hidden dark twisted plot behind the whole thing. It’s pretty sad too in hindsight.

    • I did manage to go through the doctor’s story arc, and that was a surprise. Hopefully when finals let up I can complete the game.

  2. Pingback: Feminism in Video Games | | Obelion13 |·

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

