Something I Really Want To Do

So I was browsing through the depths of the internet and just generally wasting time when I happened to stumble upon this image that issues a challenge to the reader that may seem daunting to the average person.

1366152027168

I love self-disciplined challenges like this, and this one seems like it’d be right up my alley. For those who don’t know, which is probably all of you, my birthday is April 17th, 1994. I might be a little younger than some of my viewers, but hey, video games are timeless, right? If I were to take up the challenge, this would be my list.

Note that while my search was exhaustive, if there’s another game closer to April 17th, PLEASE correct me. Most of these were taken from Wikipedia’s [year] in gaming articles, but I did go in depth for each year for as much accuracy as you can get with the amount of incomplete lists on the internet.

  • 1994: Super Metroid, SNES (April 18th)
  • 1995: Mortal Kombat 3, Various (April 15th)
  • 1996: Resident Evil, PS1 (March 22nd)
  • 1997: Star Fox 64, N64 (July 1st)
  • 1998: Might and Magic IV: The Mandate of Heaven (April 30th)
  • 1999: Super Smash Bros., N64 (April 26th)
  • 2000: The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask (April 27th)
  • 2001: Dark Cloud, PS2 (May 28th)
  • 2002: Special! See below!
  • 2003: Siren, PS2 (April 20th)
  • 2004: Hitman: Contracts, PS2, Xbox (April 20th)
  • 2005: Psychonauts, Xbox/PC (April 19th on Xbox)
  • 2006: Dreamfall: The Longest Journey, PC/Xbox (April 17th)
  • 2007: Pokemon: Diamond and Pearl, NDS (April 22nd)
  • 2008: Teenage Zombies: Invasion of the Alien Brain Thingys!, NDS (April 15th)
  • 2009: Demigod, PC (April 14th)
  • 2010: Sam & Max: The Devil’s Playhouse Episode 1: The Penal Zone, PC/PS3 (April 15th)
  • 2011: Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection, PSP (April 17th)
  • 2012: Disgaea 3: Absence of Detention, PSVita (April 17th)
  • 2013: Shin Megami TEnsei: Devil Summoner – Soul Hackers

First off, I get to start with Super Metroid. I had planned to skip games if I had already beaten them, but fuck it, IT’S SUPER METROID. Now for some notes. Everything in bold might not be the closest game out there, but it’s the closest game I found to my birthday.

Now, for 2002, let me explain something. I found two eligible games for 2002, and it’s kind of a compromise either way. I could go with Clock Tower 3, which came out on March 18th, or the only other game I found that was eligible… April 22nd’s Battle Raper, a very subpar hentai fighting game. Like, while typing this, I looked it up on Google and found a Youtube video showing a match. Apparently, you lose clothes as you fight and the loser gets raped. Now, eroge games aren’t my thing, but the whole spirit of the challenge is to play the game closest game to your birthday, and while I’d rather play Clock Tower 3 since I loved the first one, it’s not the challenge. I’d really hate to play.. -ahem- Battle… Raper… but I’d really hate to skimp out on the challenge. That’s why I turn to you, readers. Please, PLEASE find me a game that qualifies better than Battle Raper. PLEASE

Clipboard

If I attempted this challenge, should I keep a logbook or something of my progress? I dunno WHEN I’d get to this, but the point is that I WANT to do this eventually, so please, correct my list if you guys can, and for the love of God don’t make me play Battle Raper.

3 responses to “Something I Really Want To Do

    • Kind of weird when you think of a generation gap, even if it isn’t by many years. Anyways, there’s always NES and up if you want to hop on the challenge train :3

  1. Pingback: The Search Is On | Obelion13·

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

