Monster Hunter 4 Released… in Japan

711524_orig

The long awaited beginning of the fourth generation of Monster Hunter released in Japan today (or yesterday for our oriental friends across the Pacific), and frankly, I couldn’t be more pissed off for not having a Japanese 3DS. If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you know I’ve done a fair share of coverage for Monster Hunter 4, but if you’re just joining us, then I”ll explain.

Monster Hunter 4 is the latest title in the Monster Hunter series, which is insanely popular in Japan and has a growing fanbase overseas thanks to Monster Hunter Tri and Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate. I’ve been playing the series since Monster Hunter for the PS2 hit American shelves in 2004, and has been one of my favorite series across the video game generations. Being of a new generation, Monster Hunter 4 brings in brand new areas, monsters, and mechanics that haven’t been seen in the series as of yet, including the interesting jumping and climbing features that are so prevalent in gameplay. It also features two new weapon classes: The Insect Control Rod (or as some sources say, the Neopteron Handler), which is a big staff that uses quick attacks and a bug minion to steal self buffs, and the Charge Axe, which can switch between Sword and Shield and Two Handed Axe modes.

Monster Hunter is unbelievably popular in Japan, being the subject of tributes, references, knock offs, and even popular subject matter (think of Call of Duty overseas, except no one hates it over there). While the Japanese are probably playing late into the night as of right now, the rest of the wold will have to wait patiently until an official localization gets announced from Capcom.

The thought of 4th gen hunting being in the world and me not being able to play it tears apart my very soul. This is just like when Monster Hunter Freedom 2 and Monster hunter Tri were reelased. I’ll have to suffer for quite some time to be able to play it, but with all of you guys here, I won’t have to suffer in silence! I can whine to you guys all day about it!

HURRY UP WITH THE GOD DAMN LOCALIZATION CAPCOM I NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEED THIS I CANT WAIT MUCH LONGER I’M GOING CRAZY JUST THINKING ABOUT PLAYING MH4

1375990838950

Goddammit.

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

