Why It’s Hard For Me to Enjoy Games

maxresdefault

Lately it’s been getting more difficult for me to find a game that I can enjoy. Sure, a few titles I’ve picked up along the way have really given me my money’s worth, but most major releases aren’t even worth buying to me. I’m busy with school and work these days, but it’s not like I don’t have free time on my hands, so it’s definitely not a time or motivation concern. So what do I think is wrong?

I think I’ve been redpilled. Over the course of time I’ve begun looking into games to the point of dissection.  It’s harder and harder to simply enjoy a game when I’m quicker to rip them to shreds. Combined with a pessimistic outlook on things, and I’ve become quicker to state the bad things about a game than the good things. Instead of enjoying the finely tuned machinery of a video game, I take it apart and call it out for having lazy production values. Companies are on the cutting board for their awful business practices, leaving me to throw the company’s reputation on their games, even if they don’t deserve it. Fans and enthusiasts are held at gunpoint for enabling devs to make games with lower standards, and overall, I’m running out of good things to say about the video game industry and the games it makes.

hKeQZmN

I’m good at separating knowledge in different situations. For example, I can separate player knowledge from character knowledge during traditional role playing games quite easily. When it comes to video games, however, I have a hard time throwing the analyst in me to the side and jump into a game’s immersion. Dark Souls is one of my favorite games of this last generation, and yet I can tell you the shittier aspects of it in a heartbeat. I still play it though, and quite often.

So, am I dropping out of the industry? Am I going to take the blue pill instead and enjoy my shit sandwich and fuck fries?

No. For the sake of my readers, and my pseudo-masochistic love/hate relationship with the current state of affairs in the industry, I will press on. I”ll weather this storm, and meet all of you in the paradise of good fuckin’ games. I’ll keep playing games, and I’ll keep hating games, and I”ll keep loving games because fucking hell I love video games.

I may not be the best at what I do, or hell, even remotely good, and I might not update regularly, but god dammit I aint stopping now.

fr96HTH

This kind of sums up how I feel about games lately.

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

