Review – Super Mario 3D World

super-mario-3d-world-3

Victory, thy name is PEACH

If you talk to me about Mario, you’ll see that I have a holy trinity of titles that I love immensely. Super Mario World, Super Mario Sunshine, and Super Mario 64 are the three Mario games that set my expectations when I play other Mario games. The New Super Mario series recently spewed out by Nintendo was extremely disappointing, so when Super Mario 3D World came out, I wasn’t sold one bit. Recently my friend, who’s also a huge supporter of the site, came over to hang out and brought it along with him, and after a bit of playing, I was like

1375063744807

“Dis gonn’ b gud”

Super Mario 3D World is the best Mario game to come out in quite some time. No, it’s not “Holy Trinity” tier, but it’s definitely better than New Shitty Mario Bros.. The game feels well made overall with good music and some nice looking graphics. Granted the Wii U isn’t a graphical powerhouse, the aesthetics work well for what they’re worth. The gameplay is fun, but Super Mario 3D World is definitely a 2+ player game.  Nothing’s funnier than throwing your friend off of a cliff and watching him cry over his lost crown.

1379229508650

Then the fist fighting starts

Of course, nothing can ever be just dandy. The game’s got some problems, but ways to wiggle around them. The new cat suit powerup is extremely overpowered in the sense that you can climb walls and run faster. Being that this is a platforming game, that’s a good thing, but a lot of the levels practically make the cat suit a necessity for finding some secrets. This makes things like the Fire flower and Tanooki suits just fillers for when you get your cat suit again. Also, if you fail enough on one level, you might get a new item called the Golden Tanooki suit. This item makes you invincible and gives you better hovering abilities than the regular Tanooki suit, which is a load of horse shit because it’s pretty much “Oh, you can’t win? Here, let me hold your hand so you can do it. Yay, you did it! Good boy!” all wrapped up into one item. The ONLY reason I’m okay with it being in the game is because it’s not forced, so you can just run by it. Still shitty, but less shitty.

Anyways, I had a lot of fun with Super Mario 3D World. It’s a tremendous step up from the latest Mario games deserving of a solid 7.5 to 8/10. My girlfriend and I actually went 50/50 for a copy today and we played it for a good four hours. We bought it at full price, which I hate doing, but it’s still worth checking out if you own a Wii U.

Also Peach is OP and impossible to be killed by a dickhead team mate. Probably the first Mario game in forever where I don’t play Mario by choice simply because Peach is ungankable.

Princess_Peach_Artwork_(alt)_-_Super_Mario_3D_World

Tanooki Suit + Peach = laughably easy playthroughs

2 responses to “Review – Super Mario 3D World

  1. You don’t mention 3D Land, wich is awesome. Ive bought a 2DS with this game and was very much impressed. This game makes me want to buy a WiiU + 3D World on the first opportunity (it’s very expansive in Brazil), let’s see how the new DK works out. Maybe you have skipped both Galaxy games, theyre much better than Sunshine. Since you can play it on WiiU I advice you picking it up. Also, pick up DKC Returns, it’s an flawless game – better than the snes trilogy.

    • I actually liked the Galaxy games, but I was mainly referring to the “New Super Mario” games. I was thoroughly unimpressed by the time 3D Land came out, so I never bothered to play it. If you don’t pick up a Wii U soon, I’d pick one up around the time Super Smash Bros. 4 comes out. I”ll have to check out DKC Returns; the last Donkey Kong game I”ve honestly finished was 64, so it’s about time to catch up.

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

