Review – Pikmin 3

pikmin-3-wallpaper-1

Rock Pikmin transcend the definition of adorable

After finishing Pikmin 2 back in 2004, I was left for a hunger for more Pikmin, but sadly, I had already cleared all of the content in the first Pikmin games. I waited eagerly for Pikmin 3 on the Wii, but I was only greeted with a remake of the first two, which implemented new controls, but nothing notably new. Years passed and there was no hope for a Pikmin, so I thought to myself, “Yknow what? Pikmin 1 and 2 were great. I’m content with the series.” And so Pikmin 3 fell of my radar…

…until the Wii U hit the scene. There it was in all of its glory; the long-awaited Pikmin 3. It only took 9 years, but it was finally here. Needless to say, I was fucking stoked. After picking up a free game coupon from the Mario Kart 8 promotional event, my poor ass finally got hold of Pikmin 3. So what do I think of such a long awaited sequel?

It’s fucking great. Like, every aspect of the Pikmin series was improved in every way. The game plays so naturally with any control scheme, it has great replay value, and I won’t hesitate to say that Pikmin 3 has some of the absolute best Wii U graphics. Fuck Mario Kart 8, which was great, and fuck Super Mario 3D World, which was also great. Pikmin 3’s graphics are unmatched by other Wii U games. On my 50 inch plasma, it’s just absolutely gorgeous. Like, mmmmmmmmmmmmmmf.

But anyways, the graphics and soundtracks have both gotten massive improvements, and the game mechanics just feel so polished. The need to march your Pikmin with the C stick isn’t needed anymore because the Pikmin AI’s pathing has improved tenfold. Flowered Pikmin are automatically prioritized over bulb and leaf Pikmin, meaning you’re throwing your best troops first for maximum damage. A new group of protagonists means you are allowed control of three captains as to Pikmin 2’s two captain systems, increasing multitasking opportunities. Managing three captains is easier thanks to the Wii U gamepad, which allows you to assign pilots to automatically do tasks in a given area while you work hands on in a different area. The new Pikmin are fun to use, and the boss fights are surprisingly challenging. I won’t spoil anything, but the last few bosses are no pushover, and you WILL spend a few in-game days working on the final puzzle/boss fight.

In all honesty, this game doesn’t have many downsides. In a very few instances you’ll experience a few frame drops, but those don’t occur during gameplay. One thing I will say is that the game uses a compromise of Pikmin 1 and 2’s calendar system. In Pikmin 1 you had 30 days to beat the game, and in Pikmin 2 you had no time limits. Pikmin 3 lets you beat the game at your own pace, but there IS a limit on how much fruit you can collect for your daily rations, which could be a good or bad thing depending on personal preferences.

1396043086388

Final score: A solid 8-9/10. If you have a Wii U, you should own Pikmin 3.

If you own a Wii U and you don’t have Pikmin 3, you’re honestly not doing yourself any favors. I’m trying to be fair about the game, but honestly it just delivers in so many ways. I’ll go ahead and say that Pikmin 3 was definitely worth waiting 9 years to get my hands on and I hate waiting on Hot Pockets. If you can play it in HD on a big ass TV, then by all means do it, but either way just give it a go; you won’t be disappointed if you’re a fan or someone looking to get into the series.

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

