Fire Emblem: The Tides of War v1.1

fetides1.PNG

Can’t reset real life, nerd. Bite the pillow

So I know that I don’t write a lot in my tabletop section, but today I wanted to present to everyone a tabletop system I designed (mostly solo) inspired by one of my favorite series, Fire Emblem.

gethype.gif

The system, named Fire Emblem: The Tides of War, uses a grid and standard roleplaying dice to faithfully recreate the Fire Emblem series into a tabletop system rulebook. For those looking for a more authentic Fire Emblem tabletop game, the game easily allows you to hop into your favorite Fire Emblem world, whether it’s Akaneia, Judgral, Elibe, Tellius, Ylisse, or whatever I just missed. You can also create your own worlds inspired by Fire Emblem, leaving you to create your own legends and stories to unfold.

While I originally created this system over a year ago, I recently felt inspired to overhaul the Core Rulebook, refining my tables and adding lots of art from the series to save the book from being too bland. This v1.1 update also adds in the non-human races seen throughout the series: the Manaketes, who channel energy from Dragonstones to shift into dragons, and the Laguz featured in the Tellius series who shift into a large variety of animal forms. The series staple of Supports has also been added, rewarding units for staying close to their most trusted allies.

The system will be hosted here on my site and will always feature the latest version of the game. You can download the game and earlier copies of the system for free here via Dropbox.

fetides2.PNG

Fire Emblem: The Tides of War tries to faithfully recreate the FE mechanics while streamlining it for tabletop play.

I’ve considered adding an update featuring classes and mechanics from the upcoming Fire Emblem: Fates games and the third tier promotions found in Fire Emblem: Radiant Dawn, but as of now I’ve no immediate plans to start those updates. If this v1.1 update proves popular, I’d be more than excited to add those features in, but currently those features can be considered in the alpha stages, as the work I currently have is nowhere near refined or presentable, let alone legible or comprehensible.

I’ve put a ton of effort into this rulebook and I’m hoping that more people come to play it. The feedback I’ve received from my few playtesting groups was very motivational, as finding a compromise between game balance and a faithful replication was very challenging. Still, I’m only human, so I may have missed details on some things or imbalanced something. I’ll even admit upfront to not balancing the Laguz and Manakete nearly as much as I did regular classes, although balance testing easily occurred for over a week straight.

I hope you all enjoy my game as much as I did creating it. Also, I’d love to hear feedback or stories about your experiences with the system. Enjoy!

1430113229151.gif

Seriously, I love hearing this shit. Lay it on me

Share your thoughts! Or not. I can't tell you what to do:

